Thu 15 Feb 2018 | 09:22

Sharks throw new boys into Lions' den

Sharks throw new boys into Lions' den
Thu 15 Feb 2018 | 09:22

Sharks throw new boys into Lions' den


Du Preez will wear the important No.10 jersey, while Mapimpi is on the wing.

Philip van der Walt and Andre Esterhuizen are both named to start following their Japanese club commitments during the off-season.

Lwazi Mvovo will start in the No.15 jersey ahead of Curwin Bosch, while Lukhanyo Am has been picked at outside centre.

The Sharks also have a number of Springboks on the bench in the form of Tendai Mtawarira, Daniel du Preez, Michael Claassens and Curwin Bosch.

Ruan Botha will lead the side.

Sharks: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Ruan Botha (captain), 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman.                
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 Tendai Mtawarira, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Daniel du Preez, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Curwin Bosch, 23 Jacobus van Wyk.

Date: Saturday, February 17
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17.15 (15.15 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Marius Jonker

PV: 2
Sharks Throw New Boys Into Lions' Den | Rugby365