Wed 29 Mar 2017 | 01:33

Simmons return as Reds look to end losing streak

Reds coach Nick Stiles and fullback Karmichael Hunt 29 3 2017
Wed 29 Mar 2017 | 01:33

Simmons return as Reds look to end losing streak

SHARE

The reds face the defending Super Rugby champions in Brisbane on Saturday, a match that comes on the back of a winless trip around the world – going from Brisbane to Johannesburg, to Sao Paulo, to Buenos Aires and on to Brisbane in the past fortnight.

In the forwards, lock Rob Simmons returns to the starting side in place of injured Izack Rodda, who suffered an ankle injury in last week's loss to the Jaguares.

A shuffle in the back row sees George Smith return to the starting No.7 jersey, with Adam Korczyk shifting to blindside flank and Hendrik Tui moving to the bench.
 
In the backs, Chris Kuridrani returns to the starting wing for the first time since Round Two, with Izaia Perese on the bench.
 
Stiles has also named one potential debutant in the matchday 23, with Queensland Under-20 flyhalf Hamish Stewart on the bench.

The Darling Downs product has been a standout for Queensland's Super U20 side, helping them secure a home Final against New South Wales at Ballymore this coming Sunday.
 
Reds: 15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Chris Kuridrani, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia'aua, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 George Smith, 6 Adam Korczyk, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Markus Vanzati.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Kirwan Sanday, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Lukhan Tui, 20 Hendrik Tui, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Izaia Perese.

Date: Saturday, April 1
Venue: Suncorp Stadium Brisbane
Kick-off: 18.45 AEST (21.45 NZDT; 08.45 GMT
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Amy Perrett (Australia)
TMO: Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)

PV: 2
Simmons return as Reds look to end losing streak | Rugby365