Wed 28 Mar 2018 | 04:51

WATCH: No ban for Reds prop after Barry incident

Reds prop escapes with warning after late hit
Wed 28 Mar 2018 | 04:51

WATCH: No ban for Reds prop after Barry incident

SHARE

SANZAAR issued the following statements following the judicial hearing:

A SANZAAR Judicial Committee Hearing determined that Tupou contravened Law 9.11 – Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangerous to others – after he was cited during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

Tupou has been issued a warning under Rule 8.5 of the SANZAAR Disciplinary Rules.

A warning can be issued for acts of Foul Play that are viewed by the committee to come close to but do not warrant the player receiving a red card.

The incident occurred in the eighth minute of the match between the Stormers and Reds at Newlands in Cape Town, which the Stormers won 25-19

In the finding handed down by the Judicial Committee Chairman Robert Stelzner, the Committee ruled the following:

"Having conducted a detailed review of the citing commissioner's report and all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, consisting of a written statement from the player's opponent, Craig Barry, and from the Stormers' physician, oral evidence from the player himself and the submissions from his legal representative, Mark Martin, the Judicial Committee concluded that the level of offending did not breach the red card threshold yet warranted a warning under the above Rule."

"The Judicial Committee concluded that the player, whilst attempting to use his arms, failed to properly grasp his opponent in the tackle, which resulted in the point of contact being between the player’s right shoulder and his opponent's upper chest area, causing the opponent to bounce off the player. An inadequate attempt to grasp his opponent immediately before the point of impact resulted in the action being reckless as to the consequences thereof. This was in contravention of Law 9.11, and close to, but not crossing, the red card threshold. As a result the Judicial Committee issued the Player with a warning."

"The player is therefore free to play."

PV: 2
Watch: No Ban For Reds Prop After Barry Incident | Rugby365