Mon 30 Jan 2017 | 07:51

Madibaz thrash Ikeys

Madibaz thrash Ikeys
Mon 30 Jan 2017 | 07:51

Madibaz thrash Ikeys


Andile Jho bagged a brace in a five-try victory, with Ikeys managed to produce a solitary try.

 Lovu Claasen, Kevin Kaba and left wing Jixie Molapo, who burnt the defence to dot down for a seven-pointer, were the other scorers.

The visitors dominated the opening half, particularly in the scrums and line-out. The lock pairing of Wynand Grassman and Gerrit Huisamen gave problems to the Ikey loose trio.

And the Madibaz took a lead of 24-3 at the break.

The men from Port Elizabeth continued where they left off in the first half. After a brilliant passage of play from the home side, a turnover allowed the speeding Molapo to race in for a score under the upright.

After some constant pressure from Ikeys, they managed to grab their only try of the match. Cuan Hablutzel’s try seemed to give some loyal UCT fans something to smile about.

However, Madibaz proved to be the better side as they kept the scoreboard ticking with speedster Jho sealing his brace minutes before the final whistle.

The final score 36-8 in favour of the Madibaz


For UCT-Ikeys:
Pen: Lube

For Madibaz:
: Jho 2, Molapo, Claassen, Kaba
Cons: Simon Bolze 3
Pens: Simon Bolze


UCT-Ikeys: 15 Rob Anderson, 14 Seb Roodt, 13 Suwi Chibale, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Lohan Lube, 9 Stef de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klaassen (captain), 5 Duncan Saffy, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper.
Replacements: 16 Msizi Zondi, 17 Marty Chandler, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazebuko, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Sanele Malwane, 21 Hilio de Abreu, 22 Ibbie Adams, 23 Jez Mcintyre.

NMMU-Madibaz: 15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Ivan-John du Preez, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Andile Jho, 11 Jixie Molapo, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Lovu Claassen, 8 Kevin Kaba (captain), 7 Lusanda Badiyana, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Wynand Grassmann, 3 Nicolas Roebeck, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Xandre Vos.
Replacements: 16 Jedwin Harty, 17 Tembelihle, 18 Janse Roux, 19 Henry Brown, 20 Rouche Nel, 21 Thomas Kean, 22 Luan Nieuwoudt, 23 Daniel Voigt.

Referee: Ruhan Meiring
Assistant referees: Local

PV: 2
Madibaz Thrash Ikeys | Rugby365