Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Sun 27 Mar 2016 | 10:19

Preview: Varsity Cup, Round Seven

Preview: Varsity Cup, Round Seven
Sun 27 Mar 2016 | 10:19

Preview: Varsity Cup, Round Seven


Maties have been the dominant side since the opening match and are the only unbeaten side in the tournament. They cannot be caught at the top of the standings as second-placed UJ are seven points adrift.

The sides will meet in the final match of the day at 19.00 local time. A negative result for the Johannesburg students could see them slip down to fourth as mathematically, it is impossible for them to miss out on the next phase of the competition.

The other big match of the day is a potential quarterfinal between third-placed NWU-Pukke and fourth-placed UFS-Shimlas – scheduled to kick-off at 17.00 local time – as just two points separates them on the log.

Pukke are the form side, coming off the back of a 44-14 victory over CUT-Ixias while defending champions Shimlas had to endure their second consecutive defeat of the campaign in Round Six when they went down 14-35 to Maties.

A Pukke loss could see them drop out of the play-off spots while a victory guarantees them at least third place but they could potentially claim second spot if UJ loses to Maties. Shimlas, on the other hand, will want to win at all costs to keep their hopes alive of retaining their title.

A loss for the Bloemfontein students could see them miss out on the next phase, should other results go as expected.

The only side who could still bag a semifinal spot is UP-Tuks who occupy fifth place and trail Shimlas by two points. The Pretoria students are riding a wave of success at the moment and would fancy a bonus-point victory over the struggling UCT-Ikeys in the opening match of the day.

Victory for Tuks will ensure them a spot in the semifinal, regardless of other results.

The other match of the round is significant for one reason – CUT will be hoping to avoid last place and the dreaded promotion/relegation match against the losing finalists of the Shield competition. Their opponents, NMMU-Madibaz, will be playing for pride as they have wrapped up sixth place on the log.

We look at all Monday's action!

Monday, March 28

UCT-Ikeys v UP-Tuks
(Cape Town Stadium, Kick-off: 12.45 CAT)


UCT-Ikeys: 15 Nathan Nel, 14 Sebastian Roodt, 13 Justin Heunis, 12 Lihleli Xoli, 11 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 10 Thomas Bednall, 9 Dylan Tidbury, 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Olwethu Hans, 5 Mark Prior, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 Samuel Shaer-Teron, 2 Keagan Timm, 1 Msizi Zondi.
Replacements: 16 Sean Paterson, 17 Joel Carew, 18 Alva Senderayi, 19 Nyasha Tarusenga, 20 Stephen Wallace, 21 Kofi Appiah, 22 Suwi Chibale, 23 Jayson Landman.

UP-Tuks: 15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Riaan Britz, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Toko Maebane, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Frederic Eksteen, 6 Ruan Steenkamp (captain), 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel.
Replacements: 16 Jan Enslin, 17 Du Toit Genis, 18 Pieter Jansen van Vuren, 19 Luke van der Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Tinus de Beer, 22 Keanan van Wyk, 23 Justin Forwood.

Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni

CUT-Ixias v NMMU-Madibaz
(Cape Town Stadium, Kick-off: 14.45 CAT)


CUT-Ixias: 15 Meyer van Tonder, 14 Mauro Bucachane, 13 Ruan Wasserman, 12 Johan Nel, 11 Henry Immelman, 10 Darron Baron, 9 Marius Grobler, 8 Jasper Wiese (captain), 7 Vincent Maruping, 6 Adrian Rossouw, 5 Rayno Nel, 4 Wikus Davis, 3 Gunter J v Vuuren, 2 Cameron van Heerden, 1 Juan Volkwyn.
Replacements: 16 Len Noort, 17 Gerhard Baard, 18 Sylvester Makakole, 19 Johann Grundling, 20 Olwethu Ndakisa, 21 Titsetso Madonsela, 22 Masego Toolo, 23 George Marich.

NMMU-Madibaz: 15 Keanu Vers, 14 Ivan-John du Preez, 13 Riaan Esterhuizen, 12 Andile Jho, 11 Khaya Malotwana, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Lovu Claassen, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Henry Brown, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Warrick Venter, 1 Marzuk Maarman.
Replacements: 16 Tango Balekile, 17 Nemo Roelofse, 18 Elandre van der Merwe, 19 Andisa Ntsila, 20 Jayson Reinecke, 21 Luan Niewoudt, 22 Thomas Kean, 23 James Byel.

Referee: Lourens van der Merwe

NWU-Pukke v UFS-Shimlas
(Cape Town Stadium, Kick-off: 16.45 CAT)


NWU-Pukke: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Lucian Cupido, 13 Johan Deysel, 12 Hendrik Marais, 11 Mahuza Sylvian, 10 Bernhard Janse van Rensburg, 9 Malherbe Swart, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Marno Redelinghuys, 6 Jaco Jordaan, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Bartholomeus le Roux, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Mashudu Mafela.
Replacements: 16 Louis Van Der Westhuizen, 17 Mogau Mabokela, 18 Ruan Venter, 19 Christiaan Liebenberg, 20 Chriswill September, 21 AK Nela, 22 Elden Schoeman, 23 Mogau Mabokela.

UFS-Shimlas: 15 Frederick Mason, 14 Vuyani Maqina, 13 Stephan Janse Van Rensburg, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Mosolwa Mafuma, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Renier Botha, 8 Murray Bondesio, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Musa Mahlasela, 5 Jan Venter, 4 Dennis Visser, 3 Chase Morison, 2 Elandre Huggett, 1 Thabiso Khanye.
Replacements: 16 Marco Klopper, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18 Ntokozo Vidima, 19 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 20 Albertus Pretorius, 21 Renaldo Meyer, 22 Apiwe Dinga, 23 Dolph Botha.

Referee: AJ Jacobs

Maties vs UJ
(Cape Town Stadium, Kick-off: 19.00 CAT)


Maties: 15 Jason Worrall, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Barend Smit, 11 Carlisle Nel, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Solomon Ferreira, 8 Martin Groenewald, 7 Sydney Labuschagne, 6 Geor Malan, 5 Justin Moberly, 4 Johan Momsen, 3 Marthinus Oosthuizen, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Wesley Adonis.
Replacements: 16 Craig Corbett, 17 Johannes Kleinhans, 18 Conal Brown, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Brendon Nell, 22 Charlton Fortune, 23 Edward Marais.

UJ: 15 Ronald Brown, 14 Peter-John Walters, 13 Bradley Moolman, 12 Robert de Bruyn, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus Porter, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser, 3 Nico Du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Siyakubonga Nzuzo.
Replacements: 16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy Jordan, 19 Kyle van Dalen, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Caswell Khoza, 22 Dominic Kroezen, 23 Waldo Weideman.

Referee: Francois Pretorius

PV: 2
Preview: Varsity Cup, Round Seven | Rugby365